Pat Cummins withdraws from the IPL in 2023

pat cummins_ipl 2023

Australia’s Test and ODI captain Pat Cummins withdraws from the 2023 IPL.Pat Cummins explained his decision to forego the IPL 2023 by quoting the busy international schedule.

Pat Cummins, the captain of Australia’s Test and ODI teams, has made the decision to skip the IPL 2023. On Tuesday, the legendary all-arounder tweeted his decision.He cited the packed international schedule as the cause of his decision to forego the Indian T20 competition. The player also thanked his IPL team, the Kolkata Knight Riders, for supporting his decision.

It’s important to note that Cummins made his announcement on November 15, the last day for all 10 IPL teams to handover their list of retained and released players.

Because the upcoming year’s international schedule is packed with Tests and ODIs, Cummin said he had to make the difficult decision to skip the IPL. Instead, he chose to take some time off before the Ashes series and the World Cup. He also expressed his gratitude to KKRiders for their support.

Speaking of KKR, they have been by far the most active team in the lead-up to the retention window closing. Prior to signing India pacer Shardul Thakur from Delhi Capitals, they traded Gujarat Titans champions Lockie Ferguson and Rahmanullah Gurbaz. Aman Khan was also exchanged to the Mumbai Indians.

The Test and ODI captain participated in the last three IPL competitions with Kolkata Knight Riders, but he had to end his 2022 campaign early due to a hip injury, playing only five matches while picking up seven wickets and scoring 53 runs.Cummins recently competed for Australia in the T20 World Cup. The team was unable to make it to the semifinals of the contest. Early this year, Cummins was named Australia’s captain as a result of Aaron Finch’s ODI format retirement. Additionally, this year, Cummins led Australia to a significant Test series victory in Pakistan.

The list of players who have been retained, transferred, or released must be submitted by Tuesday at 5 p.m. by all 10 IPL teams.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.